Is there a re-set button?

Nearly a month since I last posted…gasp! However, as busy people and parents can attest, sometimes priorities are given to other things and in my case, any spare moment I could  take was spent finishing all the homework from a writing course. But finally, the homework is all turned in and I have made headway on a personal writing project. This is an accomplishment for me and I am excited to move it forward in the upcoming new year.

My thoughts today turn towards holiday preparation, packing for vacation and sitting relishing in the feeling of not being under deadline for a day or so. My late nights continue, except instead of having a glass of wine with my ever-increasing complex characters, I am hiding elves while trying to get my house “party-ready” for an upcoming soiree in between holiday shopping online to save on much precious time. Life is never boring.

This morning as I stumbled downstairs, after insisting Mr. L and I crack open a french Gamay Noir (avoiding the temptation of the beautiful Italian wines being held back for our party) the night before, my bleary-eyes turned on the coffee maker while I patted myself on the back for making lunches while enjoying said glass(es) of wine. We were still running a little behind schedule, but not too bad as the kids gobbled up pre-made chocolate chip pancakes with bananas on the side and ventured off to finish getting ready. Then I hear Elizabeth,

“EWWWW!!!! Mooomm!!!”

I run to our main floor powder room and find her holding one foot up in a semi-tree pose. Asking her what is wrong, I smell it and then I see it. The hugest pile of dog poop in the middle of our foyer. Footprints back into the powder room mark where my eldest daughter of nearly eight years old somehow stepped with her bare feet in the massive pile.

Now, our dear yellow lab is a an older guy, nine and a half, and admittedly a great dog. However, this past year, we have started to notice the poor guy just cannot hold his bowels as long as he used to. Especially if whomever was responsible for the last walk did not ensure he finished all his business. It is simply becoming too hard for him to wait on our crazy morning schedule in the mornings and when he needs to go, he goes.

So this morning, after finding his accident, I put the old guy out in our backyard in case he wasn’t quite done. With only two sips of coffee in my bloodstream and my english muffin turning stone cold, I clenched my jaw as I began the process of cleaning up the floor and my oldest daughter hearing the shower go on upstairs. Oh right. Mr. L has time to have a shower.

“Honey, how did you not see that?” I ask.

“I don’t know…I just didn’t.”

Sighing I clean her feet hoping it’s not on her pants too and tell her to finish getting ready. Mumbling under my breath that wouldn’t it be nice to have a hot breakfast just one day,  I run to deal with the preschooler who just announced he’s finished #2 and waiting for me in the upstairs bathroom. It’s official, I am surrounded by poop.

Mr. L still has not made an appearance. I calmly ask  our younger girl to go get her coat on as she needs to get to her bus, in five minutes. As I’m cleaning up Jacob and getting him dressed I hear another sound.

“Owwww!!! I’m okay..I think. There’s no blood.”

Leaving Jacob in his batman underwear, I run down the stairs to find Elizabeth grabbing her forehead.

“What happened?” I ask worried she has once again split her head open. After all, this is a child who walked into the corner of a wall and required three stitches.

“I was trying to warm up your breakfast in the microwave and I opened it up hitting my forehead.”

Image

Prying her hand away from her forehead, a sizeable goose-egg is quickly forming complete with a bruise line similar to the door from the microwave. Taking her downstairs to get ice, Mr. L finally arrives and asks what is going on. Looking around at a girl in bare feet holding her forehead, a preschooler with a dirty face in underwear and a five-year old who is starting to panic she is going to miss her bus, I ask,

“Is there a re-set button to start the day again?”

Thankfully, with Mr. L’s help, Audrey got to her bus on time, Elizabeth rested until her bus drop-off and the goose egg seemed to shrink a bit and Jacob and I finally got dressed.

As I reflect on the comedic tone my life  as Jacob runs around singing “Bubble, bubble, bubble bubble guppies,” I can only smile and vow to manage Jake the dog’s walks better and pay attention to the sometimes neglected sixth member of our family. After all he’s earned having his golden years be pleasant and full of attention. He did watch three babies usurp his original place in our household.

I will try to remember to watch what I mumble around a very observant young girl who is trying her best to help her sometimes frazzled mom out. But I will admit, it warms my heart to have the kindness of a family member thrown my way. Sometimes parents, or this mom in particular, feels there is little gratitude from our families for all I do.

Lastly, I will pat myself on the back. In all the crazy that is sometimes my house in the mornings, I kept my cool remembering there is still a half bottle left of that Gamay Noir to enjoy tonight.

Image

What a way to start the day…

2 thoughts on “Is there a re-set button?

  1. I swear I just checked your page yesterday to see if I was missing your posts! Welcome back. My morning yesterday started with waking up to a head butt from my 1 yr old and then my 4 yr old jumping on my bed singing at the top of her lungs. It ended with my very, very naughty Weimariener eating all the ham I had out on the counter to make dinner with. I feel ya Momma!!

  2. Thanks – I didn’t quite get to the wine due to the last night of my writing class running a bit long (and eating something became way more important) but ready to hit the bed and hope tomorrow starts off, differently. Head butts are the worst!! Oh no re ham…just when we thought we just had the kids to deal with..the dogs start up. 😉

Leave a Reply

