Hibernation – for humans too!

IT IS FREEZING OUTSIDE! Yes, I live in Canada and winters are traditionally cold but I live in an area of Canada that has seen mild winters for the last couple of years. This year for the first time, we actually had enough snow to take the kids sledding during the winter break and they loved it. But those were temperatures when a snowsuit was enough and the kids had their mittens off half the time.

 

The weather today is the bitter cold of January, the true period of hibernation. Suiting up my three little ones to trek them out to the corner bus stops is not something I can bring myself to do, so I have taken to driving them to school. It has not been too bad, we have a little more time in the mornings and it gets me out the door. Our poor dog, Jake, has not had a proper walk in a few days. After seeing another brave dog owner trekking through last night’s snow and stopping every few steps to warm their dog’s feet, I cannot face doing that with three kids in tow. On top of seeking a mature reliable babysitter, I am now looking for an occasional dog-walker. Both items come out of the budget line, “my allowance” and since I take care of the budget, I think an increase is required for the next few months until winter is over.

The last day or so I have been thinking that writing down my experiences as a Mom of three is a good start for an aspiring writer and getting a blog up, albeit a very basic one that requires much editing and “fancying” up, is a milestone. Yet, perhaps it is time my mind turned towards having a bit more structure to my daily ramblings. After all, I could ramble on for a year (which was my original plan) and see what I have at the end of it, but the hidden lover of organization and previous marketing genius craves a bit of goal setting.

How about it? Is there value in the raw words of an insider’s perspective to raising three or more children or could there be a deeper way to more thoughtfully post my stream of daily life?

Words to ponder while we hibernate…

Leave a Reply

