New things to do – finding time.

January 17, 2013

Large snowflakes are lazily drifting off and on all day. It is as if the sky cannot decide whether to completely open and save us from the frozen brown ground since the rain last week or is just teasing us with a winter kiss, reminding us how snowflakes can be magical.

Jacob and I were having a lazy day at home. Well, not lazy in the sense that I’ve managed to get a lot of domestic chores done and there is only a handful of presents left to find places for. Jacob was having so much fun during our “time to get the dusters out games” peppered in between with story times or an impromptu dance party, that he refused to leave for our tykes yoga class. An epic battle of coats and boots later, we were late. As we entered the class, I then had to chase him down as he proceeded to grab the lunch bag carefully hidden underneath my coat, yelling, “Hungry!” I caved and we sat outside the class while he happily smushed pieces of ham into his little mouth gripping the plastic container in case I dare suggest we put it away until after the class.

Finally his little tummy stopped grumbling enough to participate in half the class and I realized how unrealistic my expectations were having our third child be able to eat on the go. When we signed up for this class I was a little wary of the 1145 am start time knowing he runs like a clock at meal times, but figured we would try it. Mental note:  planning an earlier lunch with snack afterwards may ensure we have a good time at our class.

Today, I will be interviewing a potential babysitter in between bus pick-ups

When interviewing candidates, I ask all the standard questions, request references and confirm hourly rate. But my real test are the kids. How do they interact with them and how do my kids respond to them? I will hire a babysitter who essentially ignores me and plays or talks to my kids rather than one who just kind of waits for the kids to come to them. That means their focus is on the kids, where it should be.

Some interview questions are standard such as, asking about family background and their experiences. I also like to try to get a sense of how comfortable they are with handling three or more. A lot of babysitters are not experienced in the juggling of three or more children under the age of six. Some days Mr. L even admits he can’t handle it.

We will see how it goes today.

January 18, 2013

My first Zumba class in a long time and  I am feeling great! After a rush to get the three kids to their destinations, I drove to the health club Mr. L and I joined this past fall and which I’m lucky to make it to once a week, for a Friday morning class.

Hip-grinding music with a room full of generally uncoordinated people trying to shake all they got not caring who sees and something that gets my heart race up. I’m all in. I arrive a little late but after a few seconds, start shimmying to the latin beats along with the other women in the room and am so glad I dragged my tired self here this morning.

ZUMBA

ZUMBA

Last night (as in many nights) I went to bed way too late getting sucked into reality television after my brain felt strangely alert from writing. Of course, I get hungry so have a snack at nearly midnight and then I need to read before I go to sleep to relax. Being an avid reader, books are piled throughout our house and currently I am near the pinnacle of the latest Kate Morton book, The Secret Keeper. The part where you need to know what happens next! It is only when Mr. L pleads with me to turn the light off do I reluctantly put the book down to get some sleep. There is no way on these nights that I can wake up earlier than the kids so it is always a bit of a rush to get them and myself ready. I am actually stopping myself right now from just bailing on everything to go and finish it. But I don’t.

The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton

The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton

Back to exercise. Mr. L has been on a huge “get healthy and fit regiment” since last spring. I try to be as supportive as I can. I buy all the special foods he only eats and try not to make anything too unhealthy. After all, less carbs never hurt anyone. It has simplified our eating quite a bit as I focus on protein and vegetables for our meals and throw in homemade pizzas or Mommy’s mac n cheese to keep the kids happy. Currently he is into bodybuilding and I must say, he looks fabulous! He is trim and toned with more energy and it gives him a hugely needed personal area of his life to release any stress.

I am innately lazy. Although I love Zumba because it’s fun, I dread weight lifting, don’t see the point of running but will go to a yoga class any day of the week. Yoga helps with building strength, stretching out the most sore areas on a Mom, neck/back/shoulders and at the end I get to take a nap. In the fall, Mr. L, wanting to share his newfound hobby, put together an exercise routine to help me with all the areas I don’t want to do but realized I have to at least start. The older and more creaky I become, the more it becomes clear I need to take better care of myself physically. I got into the routine for about six weeks. It was nice to have the reprieve from the house and he really tried to be home at an earlier time so I could get to the gym. I do not like working out at home. I have no discipline and truthfully, the kids always find me and need something. So to work out I have to leave the house, but most days during the week I can’t leave until nearly 8 pm and truthfully, my energy level for anything physical when I know I have to come home and still make lunches, pack knapsacks and get all ready for the next day is very, very low.

Six weeks passed and then we had a vacation away. I was not feeling well and then the holidays were upon us and it all went out the window. Up until now I have not been motivated to get back on track. Even after a holiday of eating and little physical activity.

But, a friend of mine is really trying to get back in shape after the birth of her second baby and needs a goal. She asked me to sign up and do a “Tri-Tri” with her. What is a “Tri-Tri?” Well, it’s just as it sounds. It’s a sample of what a triathlon would be with reduced kilometers and meters in running, biking and swimming. A goal – why not I figured. It would give me a new experience this year.

Leave a Reply

